Testimonials

Your search results

Testimonials

Don’t take our word for it…here’s what our clients have to say about us!

 

B.L & F.L. from Scotland, purchased in Torre de la Horadada, Spain

We decided that we would like to buy a place abroad as we were looking towards retirement so that we could spend more time in the better weather but weren’t quite sure where that should be. We had been keen on Mallorca but from our own research realised that there weren’t many flights from Scotland in the winter due to the weather not being great there off season. We did some research about flights and weather and in 2017 we visited La Zenia in South Costa Blanca and felt that the area around there was not quite Spanish enough so went back to the drawing board.

We visited the ‘A Place in the Sun’ exhibition at the end of 2017. A lot of the exhibitors were only interested in selling properties that they had on their books but Alan had a good conversation (the first of many) with us to find out exactly what we wanted. He followed up shortly afterwards when we told him that we had a trip to Lanzarote booked as that was an option that we were considering. Alan put us in touch with his agent in Lanzarote who showed us some lovely properties there. The agent was great but we decided that Lanzarote wasn’t for us as the flights were longer and realised that on mainland Spain we would have the option to travel around from wherever we bought.

On return to the UK Alan contacted us and suggested that we reconsider South Costa Blanca but further south than La Zenia where it was more Spanish. We organised a trip in the July and met with his agent Luis. We were very impressed with Luis and the area around Torre de la Horadada and Mil Palmeras and Luis showed us about 12 properties over 3 days. At the end of the trip we fell in love with a great apartment in Torre de la Horadada and submitted an offer. Unfortunately the seller pulled out of this contract but we had seen a second property which needed a bit of work in the same development. Luis arranged for an offer to put in for the other property 5% less than the asking price and it was accepted.

We went back to Spain in September to arrange for the renovations, including, decorating, bathroom and air conditioning ready for getting the keys in October. Luis arranged for all the tradesmen to come to the apartment and plans were made for the work to be done in October when we got the keys.

Most of the renovations went to plan apart from some bad workmanship in the bathroom where the tiling finish was very poor. Luis helped us to work to a satisfactory resolution with the builder which is something we would never have been able to do ourselves due to the language difference.

This was the one thing at I would change about the process. Once you purchase a property it is better to live with it for a while and not to make any quick decisions about changes. It is also worthwhile being there when the renovations are being done. We were keen to get everything done before we started using the apartment but it would probably have been better to take our time with these decisions. Once you become part of a development you meet different people from different networks who can give recommendations about suppliers and tradesmen.

Overall we cannot recommend Alan and Luis more highly as they guided us through the whole process and allowed us to fulfill our dream.


J. & S. M. from South West England, purchased in Lanzarote, Canary Islands

We first met Alan & Pauline on the Spanish Homes in the Sun Stand when visiting the “A Place in the Sun Live” Show at London Olympia 2015; we had travelled across from the South West of England on the coach for a long weekend, with the specific intention of attending the Show and hopefully to make progress with our thoughts and aspirations to find a place in the winter sun, and to obtain further advice and guidance to help us towards achieving our vision and our goal.

We explained to Alan we wanted to be in the Canaries; Lanzarote in particular as we very much wanted winter sun.  John wasted no time in asking Alan a very direct question “Would we be able to purchase a similar apartment to the Lanzarote examples which you are displaying on your Stand for a price of €50,000 yes or no”?

Alan replied saying yes, I believe we should be able to find you something suitable in Lanzarote within your budget.  Alan asked which were our preferred locations and we told him Costa Teguise and Puerto del Carmen, and we also gave Alan a list of our property requirements.

We went home and John proceeded to search the Internet and came across the Teguisol apartments being advertised For Sale within our Budget, so when we spoke to Spanish Homes in the Sun again and we asked if they would be able to show us this Complex when we were planning to visit Lanzarote in June/July’15

Alan had shared our brief with their local representative Simon prior to our visit and they set about identifying other suitable options to show us when we arrived.  Simon checked out the apartments we liked and arranged various property viewings for us. Over three days Simon showed us various properties which were in our preferred locations but it  proved very challenging to find something we really liked and which ticked all of our boxes especially trying to find us something within our €50,000 Budget Guideline as well.

Following our return to the UK and after much deliberation we kept coming back to the Teguisol Apartment option in Costa Teguise and we must have tested Alan & Simon’s patience to the limit with the many questions and the apprehension and nervousness about whether to go for it or not but going for it we did and the rest as they say is history…..

The purchase has turned out to be the best decision we could have made; the Apartment has proved to be a everything we visualised and it’s been a great investment in terms of it’s value today compared to the price we originally paid in late 2015.  Most importantly the refurbishment work carried out on the apartment which was part of the deal was very satisfactory and once we had furnished it and put our own stamp on it we loved it and have felt good about our decision ever since.

We love the ease and convenience of being able to take budget flights from our local airport at Bristol and fly directly to Lanzarote any time of the year and we’ve also been pleased to let our family and friends use the apartment too.  We’ve since bought ourselves bicycles so we can amble down to the beaches nearby and we most definitely have our very own “A Place in the Sun” in the Canary Islands and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend anyone else to do it too!  We now have this amazing bolthole in Lanzarote, together with the benefit of all year round warm temperatures and the winter sun too.

Alan & Pauline, along with their partners certainly helped to make our task achievable in fact we couldn’t have done it without them so we wouldn’t hesitate to recommend their services to others who might be thinking about buying “A Place in the Sun” the Spanish Homes in the Sun Team effectively guided us throughout the whole process, answered any questions and concerns, advised on undertaking the necessary due diligence and ultimately helped us to make the right decision. They also pointed us in the right direction when it came to Foreign Currency Transfers and connected us with a local english speaking Solicitor to manage the necessary purchase process, set up our NIE’s & Spanish Bank Account, all of which lead to us achieving a successful completion and taking legal title to our Costa Teguise Holiday Apartment.

All we wish for now is the Covid Pandemic to be brought under control and travel restrictions lifted so we can safely resume visiting our lovely Lanzarote Apartment aga as well as enjoying the Spanish Lifestyle which we had quickly become accustomed to, not forgetting the gorgeous blue skies and the sunshine…..Ole !!!


R.C. from Midlands, purchased in Mallorca, Spain

I met Alan’s team at the Place in the Sun Show back in 2017. They were a very popular attraction and I was a little bit exhausted as everyone at the show had been trying to get me to buy a golfing villa in a big development so I left my details and pottered home. I was pretty tired and nervous about the whole idea but my wife had a special reason for us buying a holiday home so I was on a mission. A few days later I had a call from Alan. Let’s just say that 4 years later I still keep Alan on my WhatsApp conversation list. He’s like an old friend now. He’s helped us through every little step of the process. He can guide as to your options, place you in contact with reputable estate agents, fix you up with bank accounts with English speaking banks who will call you to set up the account. He can deal with absolutely everything I think , and doesn’t ask for a penny in return. You won’t need to give him much information, he certainly won’t spam you with emails and he won’t EVER keep you on the phone trying to sell you something, because he doesn’t sell anything!! I don’t think anything can compare to the day my late wife arrived at our little nest in sun and we sat on the roof terrace with a drink and just forgot about all our worries. Cheers Alan


G. B. & H. B. from Scotland, purchased in Puerto del Carmen, Lanzarote

Buying a holiday home in Lanzarote was always a dream of ours and we searched for the perfect place for many years without success and decided to attend the ‘Place In The Sun’ exhibition at the SECC in Glasgow in 2016, not really expecting it to change our lives.. but it did!

While there we were very fortunate to meet Alan (and Pauline) from Salamanca Spanish Villas who we found to be most helpful and very knowledgeable. Unlike other exhibitors Alan was very willing to help us find exactly what we were looking for and not try to persuade us to buy something they had available, which we respected. He put us in contact with Simon and Sue in Lanzarote. The next time we were in Lanzarote we met with Simon and Sue, who were also extremely helpful and had several apartments lined up for us to view.

 

We eventually decided on an amazing apartment in Puerto del Carmen, in a secure complex with a beautiful pool. Exactly what we were looking for. Due to legal issues, relating to the complex once being part of a timeshare, completion of the sale didn’t take place for 2 ½ years, however Alan kept us updated every step of the way which we very much appreciated. There was one point we thought it would never happen but as we loved the apartment so much, we stuck with it and it eventually paid off as it became ours in November 2019.

We still wonder what would have happened if we hadn’t gone along to the exhibition that day and met Alan, because if not for him we wouldn’t have our dream home in the sun.

We would like to thank Alan and Pauline for everything they have done for us, we couldn’t be happier. (Well maybe if there wasn’t a pandemic)

George and Helen, Paisley, Scotland

 

 

 

 


M.P. from Norwich, UK purchased in Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Canary Islands

We found Alan and Pauline whilst attending the ‘Place In The Sun’ exhibition in Birmingham a few years back and straight away they started looking for ways to find estate agents across the Canary Islands to fulfil our brief, no easy task as we had a very small budget. Alan gave us links to finance exchange.

We holidayed in Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Gran Canaria and on every occassion we were introduced to contacts and estate agents who already had the low-down on what we were looking for. They showed us around available apartments which give us a clearer understanding of the islands’ property market. At the time, the Spanish government were in the throws of making changes to the regulations regarding second homes and holiday rentals, this added an edge of uncertainty to our adventure as no one knew for certain what the upcoming rule changes may have brought. All of Alan’s contacts explained, as best they could, what they suspected might happen, it was all speculation, but they were all correct.

With Alan’s help, advice and his contacts we now own a lovely apartment overlooking Puerto Rico and the sea in Gran Canaria.We found him to be very helpful, professional, polite and extremely patient. His and Pauline’s invlovment in our purchase made the whole process easier for us than it could have been.


R.P. from Birmingham, UK purchased in Punta Prima, Costa Blanca South, Spain

We first met Alan and his team when we visited the A place in the Sun Exhibition at the NEC. Not really knowing too much about area’s in Spain or the buying process. Following our initial discussions we travelled to the Costa Blanca area to View Properties with Local Estate Agent called Luis who was very helpful, honest & informative.

Throughout this entire process Alan kept in touch to ensure our needs were being met and to see if we had any further questions that needed answering.

We are now the Proud owners of Holiday Villa in the Punta Prima area and know that this was made so much easier with the knowledge that Alan & Luis had given us. We would not hesitate to recommend their services to anyone thinking of buying a Property in the Costa Blanca south area..


D.P. & N.P. from London, UK purchased in Quesada, Costa Blanca South, Spain

Spanish Homes in the Sun Customer Testimonial – Nimi & Dipen Dream holiday villa with an inspirational views- ‘House on the Hill’ It’s always been a dream to buy a holiday home somewhere in the sun. Spain has always been a popular choice for us with its inspiration views, food, people and more important the weather. We attended the ‘A Place in the Sun Live’ exhibition in Birmingham in 2019 and this event was extremely helpful.

We obtained on various information on great choices of location, opportunities of types of properties, legal information, agencies etc. Alan from Spanish Homes in the Sun had a follow up conversation with us on our requirements. He was very friendly and accommodating, this built our confidence on trust from the start go. We planned a trip in Dec 2019, Alan spent the whole day showing us various properties.

We really appreciated his time, effort and patience and it gave us full confidence in building our dreams in Spain. We did not really find the place on this visit, however, were thinking about this last villa ‘house on the hill’ we saw with breath taking views of the sea and the mountains, however, it was above our budget and we had slight doubts on other development work around the area which may block the views in future.

We did not give up even though Covid restricted us pursuing our dreams, we planned another trip in September 2020. On this visit Alan introduced us to his colleague Jake, who spoke very good Spanish which really helped us through the viewing process as the contractors mainly spoke in Spanish. We saw quite a lot of properties, however, at the back of our mind we still remembered the breath-taking views of the ‘house on hill’. My son at that point asked what happened to this villa, Alan and Jake asked if we wanted to see this area again and we agreed.

Quite a bit of development did take place, and fortunately there was one potential villa left on the front line, again this was really out of our budget and we had to carefully consider. But we all took a moment just to gaze at the beautiful views. We returned back to the hotel and reviewed our financial status, and even though we will be overstretching ourselves we took the risk and agreed. Alan and Jake both really helped our next steps forward, solicitors and agreements with contractors etc. There was constant communication with Alan who really helped make this exciting venture happen! Both Alan and Pauline were really helpful when searching for furniture companies for our villa. We had a follow up visit within Dec 2020 with the family, where we met with Alan and Jake.

We went to see the progress with our villa, a lot was implements since our last visit, we were really impressed! We were also introduced to a bespoke furniture company, they were really helpful too. Our next visit is June 2021 to see progress and searching and buying furniture for the villa. We will be completing on 31st July and we cannot wait!! We have met many agents in the past, but we were extremely impressed with Alan’s, Jake’s and Pauline’s commitment to our new dream, especially Alan who is a very nice, patience, trustworthy and cheerful person it’s been a pleasure working with you! Jake, your enthusiasm, knowledge, energy and commitment has really helped too.

We are looking forward to meeting you Pauline, but we thank you for the lovely plant you have saved for us, we cannot wait to see it! Spanish Homes in the Sun, if very much recommended and we hope to maintain this friendly relationship with this team and looking forward to seeing you all soon!!


S.H. from Manchester, UK purchased in Costa Calida, Spain

Alan Dennett: “Swapping Stockport for the sunny Spanish Costa may seem a no brainer. But for Sue Hamm who is now happily settled in Camposol, Murcia, relocating to Spain was helped by having the appropriate experts around her including ourselves, relocation experts,
at Spanish Homes in the Sun. We first met Sue in 2019. She attended the A Place in the Sun Exhibition (Manchester) with her daughter Jo. Sue was beginning to consider retirement and what her options might be. She said Tenerife was a possibility as she had enjoyed many holidays there over the years with her late husband George. But the mainland was a possibility too. We were delighted to assist Sue to find a suitable location in the Spanish  Costas, together with support from her two children. This is Sue’s story…

Sue Hamm: “At the Manchester show I remember clearly that Alan and Pauline from the Estate Agency Spanish Homes in the Sun had a calmness in the way they explained to me how to find the right property to live in Spain. They really wanted to help me get the most from my visit to the show, rather than selling me what they had to offer. I liked their approach compared to some others I met there, and they also recommended and introduced me to an English speaking firm of Spanish Solicitors, Sun Lawyers.

I subsequently talked with Alan & Pauline several times during the following weeks after the Exhibition and each time they were helpful and supportive. The more I spoke to my two children about living in Spain, the more I could imagine myself doing it, with their support. Together with Alan and Pauline, we began to discuss possible locations, property types and budget.

A 2 bed apartment/town house, c90,000 Euros. After much thought, I discounted Tenerife. It still had a ‘pull,’ but it wasn’t practical for me as somewhere to live permanently. I decided to look at the southern Costa Blanca / Costa  Calida areas. At first, I wanted to do a property search with Jo, my daughter, independently and under our own steam. But following advice from Spanish Homes in the Sun and further thought, we agreed to take a trip out to Spain in August 2019, organised by them. And on reflection, I’m glad we did. We flew out on a Saturday and our base for the trip was Camposol. The reason for being there was because the property we were staying in was close to the description of what I said to Alan and Pauline I wanted. It happened to be in this lovely little inland Murcian Urbanization, but little did I know what would follow. Our property search didn’t start until the Monday, so we had the weekend in Camposol Urbanization. On both weekend days we had such positive experiences with all the people that we met who were so friendly, that I felt 100% comfortable. I was really warming to this place so much, that I might be able to call it my new home. Two further things help to reinforce this during our trip:

• The Southern Costa Blanca area (Torrevieja) was too crowded and built-up for my liking.
• On the Monday, we were shown five properties, and I fell in love with one, in Camposol!

Spanish Homes in the Sun connected me successfully with their Local Agent in Camposol. The agency had a good  number of properties lined up that met my requirements, including as it turned out, my ‘Spanish forever home’. Alan & Pauline connected me with one of their recent customers who had also bought a property in Camposol and who I could talk to for further reassurance.

As it became apparent to me that I might seriously consider making an offer, Spanish Homes in the Sun made provision for me to meet Sun Lawyers gain whilst I was in Spain. They are native English speaking lawyers who I had previously met at the Manchester Exhibition. By granting them Power of Attorney, if I did decide to go ahead with the purchase, they would then be able to do everything on my behalf without me needing to fly out again and incur unnecessary costs.

Whilst I had fallen in love with the Camposol property, I wanted the comfort of being back home before making my final decision. Alan and Pauline were respectful of that. My deliberations ran to 5 ½ pages. 5 of those pages were full of positives – I was ready to buy! I had an offer accepted and was delighted by the saving I made on the asking price. Subsequently I was able to use the money I had saved to make some valuable improvements and enhance my home. Spanish Homes in the Sun had also earlier recommended and introduced me to their Currency Partner and I should at this point give thanks and recognition to Excel Currencies whose advice and service on making overseas payments was excellent.

I still get butterflies when I think back to that day in November 2019 when the property became mine. Me, a Spanish property owner, who’d have thought it!! It took three months to tie up the loose ends in the UK, including to finally retire, before arriving on 2 February 2020. Just one month before you know what! Making Spain my home You might think that settling into a new home in a new country during a pandemic somewhat daunting. Well, not really. Spanish Homes in the Sun continued to be supportive. From the very beginning my neighbours and the Camposol expat community took me under their wing. I’d far rather be living through Coronavirus in a warm country where more of life takes place outdoors rather than in. I was able to arrange my residency before Brexit and obtain my TIE card. I work two days a week in a nearby charity shop. I’m so busy and so happy that I rarely have the time to stop to pinch myself and think, have I really made this new life for myself? I couldn’t be happier, I am as they say “Living the Dream” and Alan and Pauline are a large part of my Spanish Forever Home story and its happy ending!


S.S. from UK, purchased in Costa Almeria, Spain

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have a wonderful little property in Costa Almeria, ‘mi casa espana’, thanks to Pauline & Alan, Spanish Homes in the Sun & their business partners.

My journey started from an ongoing dream to own a place in the sun many years ago; I dislike the cold, not built to withstand it! I began watching ‘A Place in the Sun’ on the television, & then took myself off their exhibition in Olympia, London; my 1st visit. I returned home with an array of booklets, leaflets etc. primarily around the Canaries. I became somewhat despondent as saw that my dream was perhaps a dream never to materialize. But I did not give up. I then returned to the ‘Place in the Sun’ at Olympia, for a possibly another 3 times, but with my sister & brother-in-law!! Yes, rather a lot of times I know, but it was totally worth it, as eventually met up with Pauline & Alan, then Salamanca Spanish Villas. And that is when it all started!

Pauline remembered myself & my sister & brother-in law each & every year. But on speaking to Pauline & Alan, they ‘opened my eyes’ & gave me the hope & positivity to pursue my dream. I always recall the conversation with Alan of perhaps moving away form the Canaries, due to the price, to look at mainland Spain, which admittedly, I had not even thought about. Having spoken to Alan about what exactly I was seeking in regards to the type of environment, facilities, climate etc. he suggested Almeria. I did my own homework on Almeria, & then fully focused on achieving my dream.

I spoke in detail to Pauline, who was, a personal friend by then, & gave her a ‘shopping’ list of my property requirements! I remember well her reply, ‘well, it is not impossible, but will not be easy’; words which I focused upon.

I had already taken an unsuccessful trip to mainline Spain, with other estate agents before meeting Pauline & Alan. And I took a further trip, visiting properties specifically in Almeria with other estate agents, again without any success; unfortunately, I had left it too late to let Pauline & Alan know that I was visiting Almeria for them to arrange any viewings for me. But I then returned back to Almeria, to view properties as arranged by them. It was then that I found & purchased ‘mi casa espana’. Admittedly, Jim, business partner from Medalamar was extremely patient with me, answering my many questions, addressing my concerns, & even taking me to view & re-view the property 3 times!!  I had not purchased a property in many years, & knew minimal about purchasing a property overseas & Spanish laws; except from that gained from my 4 visits to the ‘Place in the Sun’ exhibitions! And this particular property did not even have a kitchen!

The actual purchasing process was very smooth & organized, causing me minimal stress, which was really great as I had also started in a new and extremely demanding job at the same time. Jim & Carmen of Medalamar advised & supported me in each & every step of the process. So also did Linda, my solicitor they arranged, & Ian, business partner from Excel Currencies. Alan encouraged & put me in contact with Ian, even though I had already registered with another currency agency. On looking back, an excellent move.  Pauline & Alan were always readily available when I needed them throughout the process. I know I possibly drove them all to a ‘point of despair’, although they never showed it! They even contacted me at times convenient to my new working hours, being often outside of their regular hours.

If it was not for the support, encouragement, friendliness, patience & professionalism demonstrated by Pauline, Alan & their business partners, I would have never achieved my dream; many, many thanks to you all!!

I have made friends who I feel I can contact at time I may need to. Don’t worry, I am not planning on either purchasing another property or re-locating at any time soon!! But I would recommend your services to any friend or family.


P.B. from Yorkshire, UK, purchased in Fuerteventura, Spain

We were lucky to meet Alan and his team at the Place in the Sun roadshow in Manchester in 2015. Having wanted to buy a place in Fuerteventura for some time we decided it was now or never so went, knowing absolutely nothing about buying property abroad.

Having browsed around many different stalls, Alan was the person who gave us so much of his time and knowledge and as we were due to go on holiday to Fuerteventura he arranged some property viewings whilst we were going to be out there.

As it happened we bought one of the apartments we viewed and completed the purchase in January 2016. To say it’s the best thing we’ve ever done is an understatement. Going to the roadshow is all about making contacts and understanding what is involved in buying property abroad. Alan had most of the answers as well as introducing us to Leon who was involved with a foreign money exchange company and proved to be invaluable in the purchase process.

We still keep in contact to this day with Alan and would not hesitate to recommend him to anyone looking for any advice. Cheers Alan. Keep up the good work.


S. R. & F. R. from Wales, purchased in Orihuela Costa, Spain

I decided few years ago to purchase a holiday home in Spain, went to the NEC where it was hosting A Place in the Sun, this is where I first meet Alan, after a good talk I said I would be in touch if I decided to pursue my dream.

Few months down the line I decided to contact Alan again as I felt we had a good rep-our and arranged through his other colleague to view a few properties, we decided on a new 2 bed apartment which was still under construction in the Torre de la Horadada area.

Thinking it was going to be a headache and a very stressful process I couldn’t have been more wrong, Alan and his team in my opinion went above and beyond with all their help, they basically held our hands through the whole process and made the whole purchase stress free, even after owning the property for 2 years now I still get e mails etc just to check all is ok and we’re still happy which I feel is a nice touch.

If your looking at buying a property abroad this is the company to use, can’t recommend them highly enough.

Sean and Freya


V. C. from London, purchased in Torrevieja, Costa Blanca South

Relocating abroad to Spain was something that had been on my mind for a number of years. This idea came about from my love of the TV show ‘A Place in the Sun’ and It brought me great joy, particularly to see people happy and excited to relocate abroad to the hot & sunny Spanish weather. This all started off as a dream which eventually became a reality.

In 2017, I attended the ‘A Place in the Sun Live ’ Exhibition at London Olympia and this was a very helpful event, enabling me to obtain a great depth of information in relation to the buying process and the legalities of relocating abroad.

In February of 2019, I decided to book a trip out to Spain for some property viewings, however I was let down by that particular agent; some might call the trip a failure, but I’d call it a blessing and let me explain why!

Despite the upset and frustration of being let down, I reached out to Sun Lawyers, a firm of English speaking Spanish Lawyers based in the Costa Blanca, for some advice and guidance given my predicament, they then put me in contact with Alan Dennett of Spanish Homes in the Sun and Alan subsequently reassured me that he and his team would restart my property hunting process but not until they had fully understood my preferred locations and my specific property requirements.

After much contemplation and deliberation I decided to take a leap of faith to visit Spain again to view properties in April 2019 only this time I was prepared and forarmed as I had been able to view online a selection of suitable properties which The Spanish Homes in the Sun Team had been able to recommend and from which I was able to short list my favourites to view.

Alan & Pauline and their team were nothing short of brilliant, the property viewings were very well organised and any questions I had were answered there and then. I would like to thank them for all their help and support and I would highly recommend them to anyone who is seriously looking to relocate abroad or looking to buy a holiday home in Spain

I would like to add their help didn’t just stop at having helped me to find my “Forever Home” in Spain as their Team were also able to offer advice and guidance when it came to the question of moving my furniture and belongings over to Spain.

Here again they were able to connect me with another of their Partners, PSS International Removals who are specialists in this field and who regularly help clients with both International Removals & Storage Requirements. This proved a valuable connection as the PSS Team provided all the necessary expertise and facilities which ensured I was able to have my furniture & personal   belongings safely collected and securely shipped over and delivered directly to the door of my new home in the Costa Blanca, home from home to Spain and easily done !

Alan & Pauline definitely made the whole process very streamlined. I’ve not only relocated abroad but I’ve also gained good friends from the process!

I couldn’t be any happier!

 

Thanks again to Alan and his team!

N.M. from London, sold in Costa Blanca South

We are extremely happy with your services, your hard work, support & advice that helped us to successfully complete sale of our Playa Flamenca Villa. We appreciated your professionalism throughout this experience & you reassured us throughout the process too.

We were sufficiently comfortable and confident for you to act on our behalf to effectively manage the sale process through from the valuation, promotion & staging of the property s sale to arranging the client viewings.

We thought our goal would take longer to achieve as Covid travel restrictions prevented us from travelling to Spain. The sale of our Villa was completed remotely with Spanish Homes in the Sun collaborating our lawyers.

Spanish Homes in the Sun is clearly pandemic proof and took on this sale at a challenging time we all face. The sale happened quickly. Projection was accurate and met our goal. Key attributes we observed was experience, local knowledge and reassurance.

Communication was everything in this circumstance and was always friendly and professional.

Now we can relax thanks to the help and services which were very effectively provided by Spanish Homes in the Sun & Sun Lawyers.


Andrew S. from UK purchased in Costa Teguise, Lanzarote

I initially came across Alan Dennett and Spanish homes in the Sun,(Salamanca Spanish Villas) at a Place in the Sun Roadshow at Birmingham NEC around 2016/2017. I explained that I was seeking to purchase a property in Lanzarote, to use as a holiday home to start with, my partner and I were holidaying there twice a year for the last 10 years or so, but ultimately to become something more permanent.

It was explained to me that Spanish Homes in the Sun dealt primarily with the Spanish mainland rather than the Canaries but they would see what they could do. Alan kept in touch over the next couple of years and in May 2018 arranged for myself and partner to meet with a number of agents in Lanzarote to discuss our requirements and hopefully to view some properties. Unfortunately I suffered a minor medical emergency which resulted in me spending 10 days out of our 14 day visit in a local hospital, (medical care was 1st class). However all appointments and visits had to be cancelled until November that same year when Alan again arranged appointments for us with 3 of the islands estate agents.

We met with the agents who discussed our requirements and budget and then arranged for us to view a wide range of properties around the island. We decided on a 2 bed duplex apartment on a complex in Costa Teguise as this was the area we had spent most of our holidays in, and knew it well. The deal was struck and the estate agents Sue Cox guided us through the purchasing process, Dan Rhys was particularly helpful, going out of his way to answer my questions. Early 2019 we became proud owners of our very own Place in the Sun. We used the apartment a couple of times throughout 2019 as did our extended family. Then in March 2020 everything stopped.

I was furloughed from my van driving job for 3 months during which time we refurbished our Coventry home and prepared it for renting, we also made plans to ship nearly all of our possessions over to Lanzarote,(which was easier than you might think). I went back to work in July for 2 months and handed my notice in at the end of August. With the help of a good friend we finished the house off, waved goodbye to our possessions and booked a one way flight to Lanzarote on November 1st. We have been here now nearly 6 months, our residency application is being processed and with the travel restrictions in place it is very, very quiet.

We are learning Spanish with a group that meets twice a week at a nearby beach bar, I have been in T-shirt and shorts since this time last year and have swam/snorkelled in the sea nearly every day since our arrival. Including Christmas Day. Many, many thanks to Alan Dennett at Spanish Homes in the Sun. Sue Cox and Dan Rhys. My good friend Warren James,(decorator 1st class). Russel and Naomi Rae Craven, (Canary/UK enterprise Ship and Store). My partner, Barbara, and her son Craig. Also the many, many people who helped this all happen.


Andy & Lorraine L. from UK, purchased in Costa Blanca North Inland

Lorraine and I would just like to offer our sincerest thanks for all your support, including your colleagues and many useful contacts.

From the very first email you were available at any time and passed on your knowledge or a contact to answer our questions.

Your support guided us from the first tentative steps in looking at Spain as our retirement choice and then providing contacts at estate agents, lawyers, banks and currency transfer specialists.

Nine months later I’m looking out over the Orba valley in our villa, with everything in place and living our dream.

Thank you for your support, enthusiasm and lots of help.


Steve B. from UK purchased in Costa Calida

I met Pauline and Alan (Salamanca Spanish Villas) during the Manchester Place in the Sun exhibition (March 2015). I was made very welcome on their stand, and they took some of my details and the sort of area and property I was interested in. The event catalysed my enthusiasm to book flights and accommodation in the Mar Menor Murcia region. A few days later I received a phone call from one of their partners with respect to how i can get the best deal when transferring money into Euros, and then I received a follow up e mail offering assistance from Pauline, and I decided to accept Alan and Pauline’s offer of assistance for my property search.

I confirmed my flights and accommodation and shortly before my trip I received an itinerary to meet two of their partners in the Mazzarron and Mar Menor areas respectfully, plus a contact with an independent English speaking Spanish Solicitor.

My property search in Spain was a great experience with many highs and an isolated low. Unfortunately my first appointment with one of the partners was not ideal, I arrived at their offices and although they were very friendly they were not ready to take me to see any properties in their area. In contrast the second appointment was highly professional and I was taken to 5 different properties and given some excellent advice. I also had a very good meeting with the Spanish Solicitor I had been given.

Alan contacted me during the trip to see how I was getting on, and also immediately on my return. He was very very disappointed that I had a poor experience on my first appointment.

In summary, although their was one day which didn’t run smoothly which I believe was not any fault of Alan and Pauline, I had a very good experience searching for property in Spain. It was good to have had a support structure put in place, which gave me confidence for the trip I had good communication from the contacts I was given before, during and after my trip. Each of my contacts was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Alan is passionate about his business and his willingness for me to have a good experience was very evident. Although I didn’t find my ideal property in the sun, I would use Alan and Pauline again and would recommend their services to friends and family.

Kind Regards
Steve


Jay B. from UK purchased in Orihuela Costa

It was a pleasure to meet the reps from Salamanca at the ‘A Place in the Sun’ NEC expo. I was impressed by their broad experience and network across multiple countries, and appreciated the friendly and helpful staff on the stand.

Following the show I organised a self-funded trip to Costa Blanca, and Salamanca were exemplary in their assistance organising a 2-day viewing trip in both North and South regions for me.
Salamanca’s proposed itinerary, and broad range of properties they showed me, was perfect at this early stage of my search. They were also able to introduce me to good local property agents, and other relevant professional services.

The agent Luis deserves a special mention, as he went out of his way to show me a whole range important elements beyond just the properties, including local amenities, beaches, and contrasting local areas.
Although on this occasion I found a property through another source, I am planning to buy a second property in the North, and will certainly be coming back to work with Salamanca.

Great job!


Roger & Sylvia Campbell, Buckinghamshire Purchased in Guardamar Costa Blanca Spain

The service we received from Salamanca was way beyond what we had expected. The staff were always available, never pushy but there when we had questions which needed answering. We were made to feel comfortable and never pressured in any way. Roger & Sylvia Campbell The choice and variety of properties and locations that we were shown was refreshing The hospitality afforded to us during our visit was first class. Salamanca have been there for us since we purchased when we have needed their services or if we have requested their help. When problems did occur which is inevitable with a new property purchase Salamanca were ready and available to help and deal with the issue or if they were unable to directly help they were able to point us in the right direction.

Roger Campbell, who operates his own business Westbury Carpets & Floor Coverings offers his clients a range of services from which they can choose the specific ones appropriate to their needs. Roger said he was delighted to experience firsthand Salamanca running their business in a very similar way to his own and one which has been successfully trading for over 30 years.

We would not hesitate to recommend others to Salamanca Villas in light of our own experience and the value we feel we have achieved.

Sylvia Campbell added “That with the service is given by Salamanca and the apartment we purchased, our enjoyment in the Spanish lifestyle has surpassed all our expectations.

We bought with the intention of wanting a family home for all of us to use but we could never have imagined how much we ourselves have loved the whole way of life out here in Spain.

It’s difficult to describe until you have experienced it for yourself. It was very important to us that Salamanca made the whole experience of buying abroad so easy. Unfortunately, you hear so many horror stories yet we were guided through the whole process both professionally and personally. We feel we have made new and valuable friends in the Salamanca Team and long may this continue.


 Mrs Linda Dillon, Yorkshire Purchased in Punta Prima, Torrevieja Costa Blanca Spain

Our initial experience in traveling out to Spain to view properties were very satisfying.

The visit was well planned and organized. We were not only able to view properties and their locations but we were also shown the surrounding areas and facilities.
We were able to more fully appreciate the available amenities and infrastructure.
The format of the visit included a preliminary meeting with a local English speaking firm of Solicitors which proved very beneficial. We were advised but most importantly we were able to understand the necessary legal aspects and our responsibilities
involved in the purchase of a property in Spain. This made our task much easier. We then had the confidence to progress with our proposed property purchase. The Salamanca Agents in Spain were on hand throughout the whole purchasing procedure. This was very reassuring and comforting to be able to ask questions. and to be able to get confirmation on any necessary steps.

When it came to completion Salamanca helped with the logistics in terms of transport to and from the solicitors and the developers We were taken to the Notary when we finally came to sign and take legal ownership of our property. The After-Sales service provided by Salamanca has been superb This is paramount in my opinion not only concerning the property purchase itself but being able to obtain help and advice or direction in all aspects of the Spanish way of life. Salamanca has always been there when we needed them.

I would not hesitate to recommend Salamanca Villas and would definitely purchase another property with their services… this is when I win the lottery of course!

For your information, Mrs. Dillon’s beachfront apartment at Punta Prima is available to Rent.


 Marjorie & Harry Oates, Lancashire Purchased in Hondon de las Nieves, Alicante, Costa Blanca, Spain

We contacted Salamanca Villas after seeing
their advertisement in a magazine for the type of property we were looking for. They were immediately very helpful.

Even though the property turned out to be Off Plan as we had originally wanted to find something “Key Ready” (reason being we had suffered a severe disappointment from a previous Off plan purchase) Salamanca engaged us with their Agent in Spain who could not do enough for us to help find our home in the sun.

The care and attention to our requirements without exceeding our budget convinced us we should go with them. We chose to move abroad to Spain in our retirement for a more relaxed way of life away from the poor English weather and of course a healthier lifestyle. We both suffer from arthritis problems and we felt the warmer and less damp climate would be of benefit to us both.

The advantages of living in Spain are of course as previously stated as well as our pensions stretching further the cost of living is a whole lot less. The only disadvantage is we don’t see our children and grandchildren on a weekly basis as we had been used to but as time goes by they will also be able to enjoy our home in Spain as much as we do and we will be able to spend more quality time together. Dealing with Salamanca Villas we have not encountered any problems moving abroad. They introduced us to the Legal and the Banking process in a professional manner and made suggestions and recommendations as to which Solicitors and Banks to use without us being pressured.

We are doing our best to integrate into the local culture by learning the language, shopping in the local markets and dining out at the many excellent local Spanish restaurants We can’t claim that it is easy to communicate for every eventuality but it can be fun as most Spanish people are very helpful.

The main difference is getting used to the way we shop as most shops here in Spain are closed from 2.00pm until 4.00pm. We would advise anyone likeminded to give Spain a try as long as they deal with specialized and experienced companies like Salamanca Villas to obtain the best advice. Using Salamanca we found our Key Ready property in 4 days and completed the purchase 6 weeks later. We will now live permanently in the Costa Blanca from April 2007.

We have no hesitation in recommending Salamanca to others and are happy to help with any questions if you need to talk to someone who has already purchased and who is enjoying their new life in sunny Spain.


More Client Comments…

MR & MRS C from HULL

The Salamanca Agents in Spain were very knowledgeable about the area as well as other useful information such as Healthcare & Medical Treatment. We would have no hesitation in recommending people to go on one of your Viewing Trips.

MR & MRS B from YOKSHIRE

The Solicitors explained in words which we understood and we were provided with lots of details which were explained verbally to us and then able to take away for future reference. This was a good practice because we could refer back to the information at
a later date. We found the discussion was very good as it was very important to understand the costs involved in the purchase.

MR & MRS R from BEVERLEY

We were impressed with everything and would not hesitate to recommend Salamanca Villas. We were looked after by the Agents from day one of our arrival in the best possible way and were shown around all that we wanted to see. The hotel was excellent in every way, location, food, etc. The bedroom was comfortable with a fantastic view out to over the beach to the Mediterranean Sea. Nothing was too much for the Salamanca Agents they saw to all our needs and we found them so very friendly, considerate, and extremely knowledgeable.

MR & MRS L from ESSEX

The Salamanca Agents were a delight to be with, they were very helpful in trying to find a property and a location which suited our needs.

MR & MRS P from ROCHDALE

We were very pleased with all the arrangements, advice and support received. We have nothing but praise for the high caliber of knowledge, experience, professionalism,courtesy and most importantly the pleasant manner of the Salamanca Agents.

MR & MRS B from YORKSHIRE

The properties we visited were in our price range and there was no hard sell attitude from the Salamanca Agent. The visit was well planned and very worthwhile. We will recommend Salamanca Villas to anyone who is looking to buy in Spain.

MRS L from SUSSEX

The Salamanca Agents were very helpful especially with their knowledge of the area, the builders, etc. We found this to have been a bonus especially being introduced to local English speaking Solicitors who were able to put our minds at rest and provide answers and assurances to key questions that we had. Our visit to Spain has helped us focus our minds on exactly what we require for our future life in Spain.

MR & MRS B from YORKSHIRE

One piece of advice is to be prepared for a long wait at the Alicante Police Station where you have to obtain your Spanish NIE Number. It can be a long wait and could take up to half a day. But it has to be done because you are required by Spanish Law to have an NIE Number in order to legally complete on your property purchase.

  • Travel Insurance

    low-cost-travel-insurance
  • Check The Weather

  • MORTGAGE DIRECT

  • Mortgage Calculator

Compare Listings